Course Details
Price:
$250 5 seats left
Start Date:

Mon, May 11, 6:00pm - Jun 22, 8:30pm (6 sessions)

Next start dates (16)

Location:
Murray Hill, Manhattan
39 E 30th St Suite 2R
Btwn Madison & Park Avenues
New York, New York 10016
(Map)
Share:
Important:
No class on May 25
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 16 and older
Average Class Size: 10

Flexible Reschedule Policy: This provider has flexible, free rescheduling for any-in person workshop. Please see the cancellation policy for more details

What you'll learn in this basic asl class:

This is a 6 week session focusing on the introduction to American Sign Language and Deaf Culture. You will develop a strong basic ASLary (OUR word for vocabuarly) ASL Structure, syntax, and grammar. Will learn numbers 1-100, visual discrimination, spatial referencing, practice fingerspelling and begin to understand the use of space and gestures.

You will develop grammatical knowledge through our curriculum allowing you to immerse yourself in the world of ASL and Deaf Culture. You will be working with our online curriculum which takes to teaching our visual language to a whole new level and experience for the novice student.

You will have access to E-notes allowing you to practice at home. You will be introduced to interacting with the Deaf community, and begin your journey to enhancing your linguistic skills and cultural knowledge

Additional Fee:
Required $25 E-notes per semester to be purchased directly at SLC. The E-Notes will be emailed directly to the student right after class. It includes the Keynotes Presentation with notes for students, Videos with Dialogues and ASLary (Vocabulary)

Remote Learning

This course is available for "remote" learning and will be available to anyone with access to an internet device with a microphone (this includes most models of computers, tablets). Classes will take place with a "Live" instructor at the date/times listed below.

Upon registration, the instructor will send along additional information about how to log-on and participate in the class.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy

Note: This provider has a temporary cancellation policy for COVID-19 related cancellations which is as follows: 

Cancellations made 3 or more days in advance will receive a full credit for a rescheduled date with this provider   

---- 

Original cancellation policy (non-COVID-19):

For a full refund, you must notify CourseHorse 7 days prior to the first class of the actual semester you signed up for.

If you withdraw, for any reason within the first week of the semester we will credit your tuition for up to 6 months.

Map

Google Map

Sign Language Center

All classes at this location

Start Dates (17)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, May 18 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jun 01 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jun 08 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jun 15 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jun 22 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, May 19 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, May 26 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jun 02 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jun 09 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jun 16 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, May 20 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, May 27 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jun 03 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jun 10 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jun 17 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, May 21 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, May 28 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jun 04 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jun 11 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jun 18 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
10:00am - 12:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, May 23 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, May 30 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Jun 06 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Jun 13 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Jun 20 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Jul 13 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jul 20 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jul 27 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Aug 03 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Aug 10 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jul 14 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jul 21 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jul 28 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Aug 04 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Aug 11 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jul 15 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jul 22 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jul 29 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Aug 05 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Aug 12 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Jul 16 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jul 23 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jul 30 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Aug 06 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Aug 13 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
10:00am - 12:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jul 18 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Jul 25 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Aug 01 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Aug 08 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Aug 15 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jul 18 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Jul 25 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Aug 01 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Aug 08 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Aug 15 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Sep 15 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Sep 22 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Sep 29 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Oct 06 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Oct 13 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 16 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Sep 23 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Sep 30 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Oct 07 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Oct 14 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Sep 17 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Sep 24 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Oct 01 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Oct 08 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Oct 15 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
10:00am - 12:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Sep 19 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Sep 26 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Oct 03 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Oct 10 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Oct 17 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Sep 19 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Sep 26 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Oct 03 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Oct 10 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Oct 17 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 21 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Sep 28 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Oct 05 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Oct 12 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Oct 19 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 2500 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (2)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from Marc
If I miss a class on Monday, could I go to that same class on a different night?
Answer from Brenda L. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi Marc, yes you are can. Just inform the instructor so you can arrange the make-up class. Hope this helps!
Answer
Cancel
Question from Ellen D.
If I know I will have to miss one of the classes because I'm going on a trip in October, do you think that would leave me far behind the rest of the class?
Answer from Ciarra O. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi, Ellen! It's a bit hard to say how far behind you'll be after missing a class but for you not to miss out on what was discussed that day, you can definitely make it up. Once enrolled, you can either inform the instructor right away or contact us and we'll reach out to the school.
Answer
Cancel

Reviews of Classes at Sign Language Center (25)

(25 Reviews)
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Mary A T. on 2/14/2020
I loved every minute!! Both teachers were patient and kind with this old girl!! I am soooo slow!! Learning about the Deaf Culture was amazing! Looking forward to continuing!! Mary Ann Tsoirounakis
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Rebecca P. on 2/11/2020
So amazing. Worth every penny
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Diana M. on 12/10/2019
Great class. I took this class with my daughter who wants to be a teacher for special needs students. Our teacher Shelly was amazing. We learned so much in every class and retained it. We are signed up for level 2. I hope we have Shelly again. I would highly recommend.
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Margaret M. on 12/10/2019
I took the level 1 ASL class. It was a great class. Shelly was our teacher and she was excellent. We learned so much every class and she made it very easy to follow and remember. I am already signed up for level 2. I highly recommend.
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Anonymous on 10/26/2019
Jamila was our instructor and he was fabulous. Taught with humor and we covered an incredible amount of information.
loading...
loading...
Similar Classes

School: Sign Language Center

Sign Language Center

We are proud to introduce to you a company with a number of incredible instructors teaching American Sign Language. Our goal is to provide YOU the student, an enriching experience learning the beauty of ASL and Deaf culture; we welcome all levels from beginners to advanced students. We also offer one...

Read more about Sign Language Center

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.